War for the Planet of the Apes: Epic Cinema

War for the Planet of the Apes is a great film. I feel I like I’ve seen an utterly epic, unique, state-of-the-art and yet old school. I really don’t understand how Andy Serkis and co pulled this off.

I’ve got to talk about this film’s faults, because they’re the very reasons why this film is special.

It’s another Hollywood remake

Anyway you spin it, this is yet another example of Hollywood producing a remake rather than trying to make something new. Yet, War is about as fresh as anything I have ever seen. Matt Reeves and his team have made one of the best war movies I have ever seen, they have made one of the best acted movies I have ever had the pleasure to watch and, to top it off, it’s a tragedy of Shakespearian prepositions. 

Taken in its entirety, this rebooted Apes franchise has surpassed its predecessors and this trilogy is up there with Back to the Future, the original Star Wars and Lord of the Rings as one of the best ever.

You probably need to watch the other two films

The story in War is so dense and multilayered that I feel like you need to have seen the first two entries in the series to fully appreciate it. You need to know how Caesar and his crew came to be, you need to know who Koba is, and you need to know what happened to the scared ape.

It’s possible you could enjoy the film going cold, but I think it would be a waste.

It’s damn near a silent film

There are huge chunks of this film where not a damn word is spoken, and I can see this putting off a lot of people. However, it’s during these wordless moments where this film fully shines. This is probably the part of the review I heap praise on  Serkis and the CGI team – I’ll make this brief – give this film every technical award going and let us get on with our lives.

This film is smart. I came out of the cinema in awe of how this film was brave enough to tell the story it told. I’m delighted that in a world of comic book films, Trasformers and Fast (food) movies, films like this can exist and thrive.

Leave a Reply

