Orphan X is smarter than you

Have you ever seen Jason Bourne or Evan Smoak in the same room?

Here is the thing – I am a slow ass reader and I finished Greg Hurwitz’s book in three days. I simply couldn’t put it down. Orphan X made me ignore my Playstation controller and it made me forget about my Netflix – that is no small feat.

In a nutshell, Orphan X is about a former government sanctioned assassin named Evan Smoak. The book made me want to rewatch the Bourne films, but I think the Smoak character is far more fascinating than the one that Matt Damon made famous. Smoak knows full well what he is and what he did for a living. There is no amnesia. What makes the character fascinating is that he tries to make right with the world by helping normal people who are in life or death situations.

What I love most about this book is that I couldn’t guess what was going to happen next. I watch a lot of action films, a lot of thrillers and I am well versed in the spy genre and this book still caught me off guard.

Don’t make the same mistake I did, don’t come to this book thinking you are the bollocks – this book is smarter than you.

Obviously, there is a Hollywood adaptation of Orphan X in the makings and I genuinely can’t wait. 

Leave a Reply

