Supersonic: The British Dream

Watching Supersonic was a strange experience. This Oasis documentary by some chap named Mat Whitecross made me feel old – and I’m pretty sure it is the first film to ever make me feel that way. What’s odd is that I was never a big Oasis fan growing up, I liked them, but my fanaticism came in my late teens, around the time I heard ‘The Importance of being idle’.

I have long believed that Oasis are the most important British band of my generation, it isn’t even close. Every rock-band to come from these shores post-Oasis sound like the chaps from Manchester. Yet I feel the band doesn’t get the adulation or recognition they deserve.

This documentary feels like a course correction, a line in the sand, a new beginning to how we as a country look at Oasis and their legacy.

The film reminds you that the band, specifically the Gallagher brothers, are the ultimate tale of pulling yourself by the boot straps. If we Brits cared for such trivial things, Noel and Liam would be the personification of the British dream. They should be celebrated.

For nearly two hours Supersonic makes a rip-roaring, breathless, intelligent, emotional and logical argument that for at least two and a half years, Oasis were up there with the greats. As far as I am concerned, no one has reached such heights since, so where the hell is Noel’s Knighthood?

The footage that Whitecross has unearthed is very close to being too good to be true as far as I am concerned. Yet it’s the asides that shine on this film – the stories about the band taking part in a mass brawl on a ferry and the story of them being off their tits on meth in America. Think about the talent these men had, to get into the trouble they did and produce What’s the Story (Morning Glory).

Importantly, Supersonic made me realise that we can’t have Oasis back again. It just won’t be the same. If there ever was a reunion, it would be a watered down, uninspired version of the two brothers trying to recapture the magic of the mid-90s.

But if you ever need a reminder of what made them great and why Oasis matters, this film is a blood good start.

Peace.

 

 

Leave a Reply

