The Walking Dead: I can’t take this shit no more…

I’m only half way through season 2 of The Walking Dead and I quit. I refuse to watch this show any more.

It took a while for me to even get around to watching this show. See, the thing is, I am a ‘frady cat… I scare very easily. A couple of years ago I started to watch the first episode and when it got to that part with the half zombie crawling in the park, I called it a day.

Fast forward a few years later, I plucked up the courage to watch season 1 and what I found was simply one of the best television stories I every seen. With 6 short episodes, The Walking Dead told a compelling, thoughtful, terrifying and heartbreaking take on what it would be like to live through a zombie apocalypse. I was happy to eat humble pie in between hiding my face with a cushion.

And that is the problem… Season 1 told an air tight, brilliant story. That level of story telling just isn’t there in season 2. Things already feel ploddy and I feel like I have watched one too many filler episodes. Things feel dark and shocking just for the sake of it – and that wasn’t the case with the first season.

The last straw for me was what happens to Sophia in this season. It sounds stupid, but I really couldn’t take seeing what happened to that little girl and it felt like there was no story imperative that was linked to her fate.

Also, I have no idea how this show and its story sustains itself over 6-7 seasons, no idea at all. But there is nothing in season 2 that make me want to find out.

Leave a Reply

