Rogue Nation: Probably the best film of the summer

1_Plane-scene_England_Minsk-Belarus_Mission-Impossible-Rogue-Nation_2015

There is a good chance that 2015 will be one of the most stellar years for films in my lifetime. When you really think about what has been released so far,  it is pretty extraordinary: Age of Ultron, Jurassic World, Inside Out, Fury Road and Ex Machina. Man… we still have Star Wars to come, for crying out loud.

But I guarantee that when we are evaluating these movies, Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation will not be given the respect it’s due. That film is phenominal. It is comically good. I don’t think it is possible to make a better popcorn action film.

The fact that it’s so good at being a popcorn film is probably Mission Impossible’s biggest problem. I damn near forgot the film half an hour after I saw it. Nothing about the film lingers with you – the film felt like a great way to waste two hours… and that’s ok.

For those two hours, I forgot my real world troubles and I got completely lost in the silly over-the-top fun that the film presents. I’ll be damned if you can make a film with better action, or set pieces than Rogue Nation – damned, I tell you.

The much advertised plane scene is bloody ridiculous and at times made me hold my breath for longer than it had any right to. The opera scene is one of the best James Bond sequences to never appear in a James Bond film. At so many points, this film had me making faces like a teenage boy who just saw a girl naked for the first time.

But no one will call Rogue Nation the best film of the year when it is all said and done, they won’t even discuss it under those lofty terms. I get it – but it is unfair.

Rogue Nation reminded me that it is ok for a film to be fun. Although it is easily forgettable, it is a film that I could watch over and over again. I’m not sure I can say that for many of the good films to come out this year.

@biteschoco

Leave a Reply

