The new queen of television: Orphan Black

orphan-black-wallpaper-cool-07yz96q4uc

Orphan Black first aired March 2013 – that is over 2 years ago. It has taken 2 years for me to discover this television show. That thought makes me feel sick. Frankly, I don’t know what happened. Maybe it was dealing with newly found fatherhood and marriage – yes, I’m blaming my family.

I tell anyone who will listen that The Good Wife is the best show on television – now I am not so sure. Don’t get me wrong, The Good Wife is outstanding, even after 6 seasons – but Orphan Black… damn!

I have only seen the first season of Orphan Black and hand on heart I can’t think of one television program that stands up to its consistency, shock value and quality. From episode 1 to episode 10 I was on the edge of my couch, not having a Scooby-doo about what will happen next. Every time I thought I figured this show out, out comes the rug underneath me. Every time I thought the show couldn’t shock me any further, out comes another twist.

For 10 damn episodes – for 10 whole damn episodes, this show kept an iron grip on me. I think it is probably the best first season of any show I have ever seen. I am counting 24, The Sopranos, The Wire, Breaking Bad and The Good Wife in this calculation. All of those shows are absolutely legendary, but the magic was not as instantanious as it is on Orphan Black.

Tatiana-Maslany--2014-Canadian-Screen-Awards--04

And then there is Tatiana Maslany – I believe she is the best television actress that I have ever seen in my whole entire life. If you think there has been any better, please comment on this article because I really want to be proven wrong.

I really can’t go any further into why I believe she is the best television actress without spoiling the whole premise of the show – and it would be a shame if I did that. But she really is incredible.


It really comes down to this… don’t make the same mistake I did. Try and get your hands on this series. I over exaggerate a lot but I truly believe in this show.

If you have doubts, watch the first episode – and then try not to binge watch it.

One thought on “The new queen of television: Orphan Black

  1. I’ve recently found Orphan Black too. Just started the second season and I am completely hooked! I think you’re right with your comparisons, I love The Good Wife and 24 but this is defiantly a contender one of the best shows out there 🙂 try Sense8 if you get a chance too!

Leave a Reply

