Could this be the new king of Disney?

big-hero-6-2

I really don’t know what I was expecting when I sat down to watch Big Hero Six. Everyone was telling me that it was good… more than good, but when I dug deeper and realised it was a Pixar-esc film, it put me off. I wanted Frozen, Princess and the Frog Disney, not Bolt Disney (I really liked that film but, damn, the lack of songs).

nigsuod1zw3o5d7ninnzHere is the thing – I have to accept that Pixar’s extremely talented DNA is now part of Disney and not every film from that mega-company is going to be a big ol camp-fest. With all that said, Big Hero 6 is simply a wonderful film. It is surprisingly exquisite.

I was caught out by this film and I don’t know why. It is very funny, it’s disarmingly charming and, even though it is adapted from a comic book, it feels so original. I have never seen animated film like this.

I’m gonna say it – I loved it more than Frozen… more than Tangled… and, lord help me, more than Princess and the Frog. This could genuinely be my favourite Disney film since Aladdin.

Big Hero 6 is a special film and I really don’t want to give anything away because I want you to be just as surprised as I was.

Leave a Reply

