Best Television Theme Song (Part 2)

o-THE-WONDER-YEARS-facebook

Part 1 can be found here…

3 – A little help from my Friends by Joe Cocker (The Wonder Years)

This is one that has grown on me over time. Every time I hear Joe Cocker’s version of ‘A little help from my friends’ or even the original Beatles version, I think of The Wonder Years. I actually think of Danica McKellar who played Winnie, but then after that I think of how great The Wonder Years was.

Seriously, think about it, it was a great show. Then again, I can’t remember any specific episodes from that series, but I remember being happy while watching it. I remember watching the series with my father and my sisters and being absolutely content. And every single time I listen to Joe Cocker howl, I get those same warm emotions.

2 – Fresh Prince of Bel Air by The Fresh Prince (The Fresh Prince of Bel Air)

I truly believe that that 90% of people from my generation (I’m 28 years old) know every single word to the opening of The Fresh Prince of Bel Air. They could probably rap it better than Mr Smith himself.

It works because… well, it’s fun and quirky. I haven’t seen anything like the opening to The Fresh Prince. It’s unique.

I repeat, its fun. This song is fun as hell to rap. It could be the very first rap song I ever knew the words to – and as sad as it may sound, it could be what made me fall in love with rap music. So yeh, this choice is a very personal one indeed.

Leave a Reply

