Winter Soldier: The best comic book film?

4222808-captainamericaThe 2011 Captain America and the following Avengers film was enough for me to label ‘Cap’ as the most boring comic book character I have seen on the big screen. Chris Evans’ previous appearances as Captain America did not have me rushing to watch Winter Soldier when it came out in the cinema or on home release for that matter. But… and it’s a big but… Winter Soldier is by far the best Marvel film I have ever seen.

And if it wasn’t for Heath Ledger, I would feel very comfortable in putting Winter Soldier up there as the premier comic book film. It is that good.

The biggest improvement Winter Soldier made compared to Cap’s other outings is that it gave him a story that mattered. I finally get why Steve Rogers is such a big deal – he is probably one of the most unique/ intriguing characters in the comic book world. He is a man that doesn’t belong in our time – he is from a bygone era where we trusted our governments and where the enemy were clearly defined during wars. But today, when shit is a lot murkier and you don’t know if your nextdoor neighbour is the cute blond nurse or a covert government agent, where does a man like Steve Rogers fit in?

It is that question and the exploration of how the industrial war complex has changed since before Roger’s was frozen, that is so fascinating about this film.

In a nutshell, I love the politics of this film. It is one part political thriller and the other part a very good action film. In fact, a fantastic action film.

Captain-America-2-Sebastian-Stan-Winter-Soldier

The moment the Winter Soldier first appears gave me goosebumps. I felt the same way I did when watching Terminator 2’s T-1000 or even The Dark Knight’s Joker, I didn’t know how Captain America was going to stop him. He is one hell of a villain and that goes a long way in a film.

It also helps if you have the beautiful Scarlett Johansson, the ripped Anthony Mackie and Samuel L (motherfucking) Jackson as the supporting cast.

Look, I am finding it very hard to see a down side to this film – I genuinely loved every moment of it. And Winter Soldier also makes the first film, The First Avenger, a lot more interesting.

I can’t wait for the next Captain America film, forget about the next Avengers. I want to see whether this was a fluke or not.

Leave a Reply

