Frozen has my child

IMG_2733

One film that I feel I have totally underestimated is Frozen. Yes, Frozen – that film that made gazillions. I didn’t quite realise what a huge impact that film has made to popular culture. In fact, I think Frozen has made me finally accept how out-of-touch I am with popular culture.

My two year old daughter loves Frozen – again this might be an understatement. She is obsessed with the film. She demands (yes, a two year old wears the trousers in my house) that we watch it at least twice a day – TWICE. Now, I personally think the film is dope, but I caught my little cub watching it the other day and I still can’t get over her face.

She was enchanted by the film – completely mesmorised. When a song came on – any song – she jumped off her seat and acted out what she saw on the screen. Watching her sing ‘In summer’ with all of the actions is just one of those instances when you realise how joyful it is to be a father.

As much as I like Frozen, and I do really like it, I don’t get that same feeling of wonder that my little girl gets. Basically, this is my girl’s version of Aladdin or Bambi – they’re my Disney films. The way I feel about those films is probably the way she feels about Frozen. For me, Aladdin and Bambi will never get old and trust me there were times in my life where I have watched those films more than once a day.

You’ve got to give it up to Disney – somehow, someway they find a way to be a part of your life. I had a conversation with a fellow film geek a few years back and he assured me that the Disney we knew were dead, Pixar were the new kings. Look at them now – they’ve made Tangled, Princess and the Frog and Frozen in the space of 10 years. That is a hell of a roll.

On a personal level, I am just delighted that my little one has found the joy of films so early on in her life. Yes it’s annoying to here Let it Go numerous times in one day but the smile on my daughter’s face makes it all worth while.

Leave a Reply

