Alternative: Morning Glory is best of British

Image

I know that I don’t have the authority to say this, but in my opinion (What’s the story) Morning Glory is the greatest British album of all time. Now I have some friends who say that it isn’t even the best Oasis album – fuck them – this is still the best our Island has ever offered up.

Now why do I say this about Morning Glory? It is simple really, like Thriller (yes, I’m going there) it transcends the rock ‘n’ roll genre.  I swear to you, I can hear the old kind of r’n’b (the 1960’s kind) when listening to She’s Electric, and there is more than a hint of blues music in songs like Champagne Supernova. This is more than Rock ‘n’ Roll – this is an example of a group that was pushing their genre to the limit and coming up with something that was spectacular.

Although I was well aware of the singles that come from this album, I first heard Morning Glory in full when I was 20 years old.  I was, and in some ways still am, a stereotypical black lad who mainly listens to ‘black’ music. Yes, on the odd day you could catch me listening to Bowie, Dylan, The Rolling Stones and the Beatles, but more likely than not you’d find Dr Dre, Biggie, Michael Jackson and Prince on my iPod.

Morning Glory was a vital part of my musical education which helped me to finally stop segregating my musical taste. If it wasn’t for this album it would be unlikely that I would have gave Linkin Park, The Arctic Monkeys, The Killers and to a certain extent The Black Keys a chance.

Forget the politics of the album, what blew me away most about Morning Glory was the song writing. Wonderwall is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard in my life, Dr Andre Young himself would be extremely proud of Champagne Supernova and Roll with it more swagger and confidence than any Rolling Stone song I’ve heard (yes, I said it). But for me it’s Don’t Look Back in Anger that’s the crowning achievement of this album – that is Oasis’ Billie Jean.  Never has a song that has been tailor made for a stadium audience sounded so intimate and to my mind I haven’t heard a heartbreak song sound so … forgiven.

Image

Ultimately the only word I can think of to describe this album is genius. Not only are there songs that make you nod your head violently, but there are songs on the album that are moving and hauntingly beautiful. I have only lived with this album for seven years but I understand that it will be celebrating its 19th birthday in October – Mazel tov.

This is an extraordinary piece of work which I hope will get the credit it’s due when it hits its 20th next year.

Leave a Reply

